Mascara Envy: Tried and Tested

I have pretty long eyelashes but the problem is I’m very fair and without mascara I pretty much look like I have none at all so finding the right mascara for me is absolutely essential. I’ve been through maybe a thousand in my time and found some great ones and some terrible ones. So here are my top picks and my worst…

The best mascaras if…

You want to spend a bit

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 19.45.21

Estee Lauder Magnascopic Maximum Volume Mascara

I rarely buy this as it retails at £20 and as a student I can’t spend that on make-up if I don’t absolutely have to but my Mum uses it and often buys it me as a gift and it’s a godsend. Lengthening, thickening and curling all in one it’s brilliant.

I’d give this a 10/10

You’ve got a tenner

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 19.52.47

Bourjois Volume Glamour Mascara

I have to admit I’m not a huge fan of Bourjois make-up, I used to buy it when I was first using make-up and I always think it’s a bit cheap looking however this is now my go to Mascara for sure. At £7.99 in Boots it’s totally affordable and works like a charm. The shape of the brush means thicker, longer lashes and it seems to last forever!

I’d give this an 8/10 as it doesn’t quite match up to Estee Lauder!

You’ve got a fiver (okay and a bit of change)

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 19.56.36

Barbara Daly High Impact Mascara

I’d love to give you a good mascara for under a fiver but this is the absolute cheapest I’ve bought that’s been any good. It’s £6 and it’s at Tesco. Yeah that’s the part that takes people by surprise but it is genuinely a very good mascara. My sister and I have both used it over the years and she now uses nothing else! It’s brilliant for lengthening and it lasts a long time, brilliant value for money.

I’d give this 7/10 as it needs quite a few layers, but otherwise brilliant.

And the worst…

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 20.00.14

Rimmel Scandaleyes Mascara

At £4.99 I did assume this wouldn’t be the best mascara I had ever used but it had brilliant reviews so I thought I’d give it a go. I was extremely disappointed. It was great for thickness but terrible for length, which for me is the most important factor.

4/10 for this one

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 20.02.26

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

This is commonly featured in magazines as a top mascara, hence why I gave it a go. Again it was a cheap one at £4.99 so I didn’t expect to much but I felt the brush was terrible. I often felt it left my lashes looking clumpy (due to the spread out bristles which would group eyelashes together) and failed to give any length!

Only a 2/10 I really didn’t like this mascara.

And my go to mascara accessory?

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 20.08.22

Estee Lauder Last Primer Plus

So yes it is pricey at £17.50, especially if you are already spending £20 on mascara, but it is the best thing ever for your eyelashes. A layer of this under your mascara will guarantee length, thickness and shape! Use it with any mascara and you will have brilliant results (even under the worst of mascaras this is brilliant)

10/10!

One thought on “Mascara Envy: Tried and Tested

  1. Pingback: Fashion 21 Waterproof Mascara with Lash Conditioner | Project Beauty Diary

Leave a Reply

