The Etiquette of Twitter

First of all I would like to apologise for dropping off the radar over the New Year period. I spent NYE in Manchester then went onto to London where I managed to pack Wicked, the Nutcracker, the Opera and some shopping into 3 days! I am now sitting comfortably in a very pretty B&B in Tunbridge Wells where tomorrow morning I will be starting my work experience at Bliss magazine.

Secondly I wanted to start the new year with an article that has been at the back of my mind for a few weeks now that I haven’t ever got round to writing. It occurred to me for a number of reasons, sparked by my father’s recent divorce. As we sat down to dinner and he updated me on the status of said divorce it suddenly dawned on me how strange it is that we spend our lives searching for one person. Granted monogamy is becoming less and less… ‘trendy’, we are still herded by the media, by our friends and families and even by our workplace in the direction of another half. We are, whether we like it or not, creatures that crave companionship. Not only that but what we also desperately want to do is show others that we have achieved this, cue social media.


facebook

Whilst I am spending my time thinking far too much about how our lives function it seems every magazine I turn the pages of is hitting a similar note from a slightly different angle. Twitter, Facebook and even Linkedin are giving journalists something to write about with centres for internet addiction popping up all over the place and twitter becoming the platform to start your career. These are the reasons I found myself reading a 3 page article (no pictures) on twitter in Vogue and a six page twitter review of the year in Glamour but what struck me? Not that it could be an addiction or what celebrities are tweeting about but just how different each form of social media is and the rules we hold for it.

In Glamour this month there was a twitter couples section which detailed tweets various celebrity couples had posted to or about each other followed by a 50 word summary which gave the reader complete control by letting us decide whether this was cute or inappropriate. In the very same magazine however, right at the back, was a section for Facebook status’ that irritate people, one of which was hauntingly similar to that posted by one of our fav celebs on twitter.

sorry-marketers-you-re-doing-twitter-wrong-report--692a5ff817

My point here is that Facebook and Twitter hold strikingly different etiquette rules and I cannot quite work out why. I myself would never dream of posting a loving status’ tagging my boyfriend’s name on facebook but I have posted the odd Happy Anniversary or ‘look how romantic this dinner was’ on twitter. My brother in fact said to me only yesterday ‘I hate when people treat Facebook like it’s Twitter’ and I whole heartedly agree.

It seems to me my Facebook is becoming a place where I can speak to 10 of my girl friends at the same time, or post an album of pictures, or chat and Twitter is where I can post about my career prospects, my interests and those cringey moments that look quite out of place on a Facebook timeline.

So what is appropriate and what isn’t?

This is my rule: conversations are for facebook, status’ are for twitter.

Am I right?

One thought on “The Etiquette of Twitter

  1. I think so – Facebook seems to be about the big things in your life where you paint a picture of your life, but Twitter seems to be about little day to day things. I think that it’s changed from when I first got Facebook, when it was still okay to put up lots of statuses but now Twitter seems to have taken its place for quick updates.

Leave a Reply

