Mince Pie Recipe

So my Grandma was always the mince pie maker of the house but in recent years, as my baking skills have improved, I’ve begun to take over and, as she find it hard to get round the kitchen and remember what goes where, give her a little break.

So now she is in charge of bread sauce and I do the mince pies. Let me warn you these are my families mince pies made with shortcrust pastry so they don’t taste like the sort of thing you would buy in a store but personally I would never ever pick store bought over these delicious homemade treats 🙂

mincepies_73207_16x9

What you will need:

  • 4oz Self raising flour (yes I know shortcrust pastry normally specifies plain flour but I always use self raising)
  • 2oz butter, cubed
  • Water
  • 1 jar Mincemeat

What you need to do:

1. To make the shortcrust pastry rub the butter and flour together in a bowel until like breadcrumbs

2. Add a tablespoon of water at a time until the mixture binds into a dough. Slightly sticky is fine but you will need to work this so too sticky is not good!

3. On a floured surface need the dough until smooth (I use my hands but don’t over work it, your hands produce grease that you don’t want in your dough so as little contact as possible is best)

4. Roll the dough out until about a cm thick

5. I have some funky pastry cutters from my wonderful Grandma but if you don’t have any to hand cut the pastry using a knife. Cut the bottom so that it covers the pockets of a cupcake baking tray and the top slightly smaller

6. Place the bottoms of your little pies into greased cupcake baking tray pockets and fill with mince meat. Don’t over fill, you’d be surprised how little filling you need as it will expand when cooked and if it spills over it’ll burn!

7. Using milk and a finger tip brush the edges of the bases (the part that will connect to the lid) with water

8. Put the lids on and squeeze them so they connect with the bottom

9. Pierce the lids in the centre to let a little air out when cooking

 

10. Brush all the lids with milk, this helps them come out lovely and brown without burning

11. Bake for around 15 minutes. I don’t do cooking times so just check after ten mins and then every 5 until done 🙂

Leave a Reply

